Inhabitants of the Caspian Sea (Caspian flotilla, ekranoplan "Lun", shop 8 of the Dagdizel plant)


While the Caspian Sea is an inland body of water, its area covers territory of five states: Russia, Kazakhstan, Iran, Azerbaijan, and Turkey, all of which deploy Caspian naval forces.  The largest of these is the Russia's Caspian Flotilla, which dates to the time of Tsar Peter the Great.  The fleet consists of over three dozen ships, including frigates, corvettes, missile-equipped patrol boats, and minesweepers.  In this drone video by VadimUshKa, you'll see this fleet on display for Navy Day in the town of Kaspiysk, Dagestan.  

  • about 1 month ago
  • 472 VŪZ
  • 15
  • 11
  • Report

    Staff Note by

    Mike Israel

    Mike Israel is the founder, President and CEO of AirVuz, LLC. He is an avid drone enthusiast and RC pilot. He is also an enthusiast of geography and history, and loves writing about all of the amazing places where AirVuz community members fly.

    Up Next